Chalkboard Project

Hey y’all!
I’m sitting at my counter on one of the most beautiful mornings enjoying my coffee listening to my little one babbling.

Don’t you just love fall? Cooler temps, gorgeous leaves turning, pumpkin spice coffee creamer. COFEEE, how I love coffee! Maybe a little too much…

So I work out of my home and I was seeing a need for a large visual where I can put notes, my weekly schedule, etc. what comes to mind? A large chalkboard of course!

Here’s what I came up with:
I bought:
A thin sheet of plywood (I think it’s 3ft by 4ft)
Enough trim to go around the perimeter, a little extra for cutting
Chalkboard paint
Stain
That’s it!

This is the chalkboard paint I got at Lowe’s.

IMG_0192.JPG

Here I am slapping it on my board.

IMG_0190.JPG

IMG_0191.JPG

It took several, several coats, and to be honest I’m still not happy with it. It has to do with the texture of the board I bought maybe?

Stain I used on the trim.

IMG_0218.JPG

Pops used his fancy circular saw to miter the corners. And then I glued the trim on with my hot glue gun.

Final product.

IMG_0252.JPG

IMG_0253.JPG

The bunting is repurposed for some bunting big sis got for our baby shower.

I had fun with this project, but I’m gonna keep it real. This is not the perfect way to do a chalkboard.

Problems:
Texture
Attaching trim

Who has a better idea? I’m ready to give it another shot.

TTFN y’all!

2 thoughts on “Chalkboard Project

Leave a Reply

